Minister of the Scientific Research Organisation of Samoa

Hon. La’aulialemalietoa Leuatea Polataivao Schmidt

Associate Minister

Maiava Fuimaono Tito Asafo

SROS Board of Directors

Back row (L-R) Dr Seuseu Tauati, Masoe Iosefa Tautua, Tusani Iosefatu Reti
Front row(L-R) Faasootauloa Pati, Sulamanaia Nuuetolu Montini Ott, Nive Tauiliili, Prof. Asiata Dr. Satupaitea Viali

The Scientific Research Organisation of Samoa was established in 2006 by the Government of Samoa, to promote innovative visions of SROS scientists and the drive from the private sector, this was visualized to lead to optimal utilization of locally available resources for the betterment of the people of Samoa.

SROS works to implement and support the Government’s strategy for the Development of Samoa by providing the research, training, and analysis required for competitive research, and market opportunities and to provide a foundation for scientific research in Samoa. SROS also plays an important role in delivering trusted and efficient services to businesses. Our efforts depend on connecting needs across government and maintaining strong relationships with local businesses, the science community, and our clients.

SROS is committed to working directly with the community to resolve real-world problems and to seize opportunities together. SROS will work to implement and communicate programs that create an environment that supports growth across all sectors in Samoa.  A key aspect of our work will be to continue delivering valuable services to the community and work closely with partners across the government to ensure that Samoans can access the seamless effective services they need quickly and easily.

SROS is structured into six divisions and one company that carry out broadly grouped research activities, The divisions are:

  • Food Science and Technology Division
  • Plant and Post-harvest Technology Division
  • Environment and Renewable Energy Division
  • Technical Services Division
  • Corporate Services Division
  • Agriculture Research Division
  • Commercial Division (NPPC)